An Phoblacht 2 - 2022 small

6 February 1997 Edition

Resize: A A A Print


Sinn Féin election candidates announced

THE nomination of Sinn Féin candidates in the 26-County election for the first time in 20 years gives a clear opportunity for another true declaration of Irish nationalism which was made so forcibly last June in the vote for the H-Block candidates.

By standing candidates in this election in the South, Sinn Féin - the only republican party - is complementing the republican fight in the North.

On Wednesday 3 February, five candidates were announced for five constituencies, with the possibility of more nominations later.

So far, named candidates are: Séamus McElwain, a republican prisoner (Cavan/Monaghan); Dublin Sinn Féin Community Officer Christy Burke (Dublin Central); County Councillor Fra Browne (Louth); County Councillor John Joe McGirl (Sligo/Leitrim); and Local Councillor Seán Doyle (Wexford).

Primarily, a vote for Sinn Féin is a demand for British withdrawal, it is a declaration of support for the republican struggle to secure that withdrawal and an end to partition, it is a renewed pledge to the political prisoners, it is a loud expression of disgust at the determined collaboration with Britain by successive Free State governments.

But Sinn Féin, through the national struggle, is also evolving into an re-invigorated radical movement, developing a clear view of its ultimate aim of a united socialist republic. Sinn Féin rejects the bonds of imperialism and native capitalism.

An Phoblacht, 4 February 1982.

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1