AP front 1 - 2022

20 March 2008 Edition

Resize: A A A Print

Celebrate 1916 and work for Irish unity - Adams

Sinn Féin President Gerry Adams has invited people to attend and support the events throughout the country this weekend to commemorate the 92nd anniversary of the 1916 Easter Rising. More than 100 Easter Commemorations will take place throughout the country this weekend.
Mr. Adams said:
 “This weekend hundreds of events, large and small, will take place throughout the country to mark the 92nd anniversary of the 1916 Easter Rising. I want to invite people to attend and support these events.  
“The best way to celebrate the spirit of Easter 1916 is for all of those who are committed to Irish reunification, regardless of party political affiliation, to work together to bring it about as soon as possible.”


1916 Easter 2008 commemorations 

Honour Ireland’s patriot dead — Wear an Easter Lily and attend your local Easter commemoration


Easter Saturday
Glenravel —Assemble 6.30 pm
Moneyglass —Assemble 6.30 pm
Waterfoot —Assemble 7pm

Easter Sunday
Dunloy —Assemble 11.30 am
Loughguiel —Assemble 12.15 pm
Rasharkin —Assemble 10.15 am


Easter Saturday
Portadown —Assemble lunchtime. Speaker: John O’Dowd
Mullaghbawn —Assemble evening Speaker: Gerry Kelly.

Easter Sunday
Crossmaglen —Assemble 11am. Speaker: Martina Anderson.
Derrymacash —Assemble 11.30pm
Newry Town —Assemble 12:30pm. Speaker: Declan Kearney
Ballymacnab —Assemble 1.30pm. Speaker: Francie Molloy
Lurgan. —Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Carál Ní Cuilín
Cullyhanna —Assemble 4pm. Speaker: Francie molloy

Easter Monday
Armagh City —Assemble 2.30pm


Easter Saturday
Whitewell —Assemble 5pm. Speaker: Jennifer McCann.

Easter sunday
Belfast City – Assemble 1pm Beechmount Ave. Speaker: Conor Murphy

Easter Tuesday
Ardoyne —Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Martina Anderson.


Easter Sunday
Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Tomás Sharkey

Easter Sunday
Clooney Cemetary —Assemble Henchy’s Bar 2.30pm. Speaker: Maurice Quinlivan.


Easter Saturday
Bantry —Assemble 8pm. Speaker: Seán Mac Bradaigh

Easter Sunday
Youghal — Assemble 11am. Speaker: Martin Ferris
Clonakilty — Assemble 12:30pm. Speaker: Cionnaith Ó Suilleabhán
Bandon — Assemble 12.30. Speaker: Alex Maskey
Cork City— Assemble 2pm.  Speaker: Alex Maskey MLA
Crossbarry — Assemble 2pm. Speaker is Dr.Rúan O Donnell historian University Limerick. Dinner and tráthnóna cheoil after at 3.30pm in Munster Arms hotel Bandon. Fáilte roimh chách.

Easter Monday
Cobh —Assemble 11am


Easter Sunday
Derry City—Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Pearse Doherty
Main County Commemoration, The Loup —Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Martin McGuinness MP/MLA
Bellaghy —Assemble 12.30 pm
Coolcalm —Assemble 10.45 am
Dungiven —Assemble noon
Kilrea —Assemble 12.30 pm
Lavey —Assemble 11.40 am
Maghera —Assemble 11.45 am
Newbridge —Assemble 10.45am

Easter Monday
Swatragh —Assemble 2.30 pm.  Speaker: Cllr. Matt Carthy


Easter Sunday
Drumboe — Assemble  3pm Speaker: Gerry Kelly
Glen — Assemble 11.30am Glen Speaker :Cllr. P J Branley
Letterkenny — Assemble 11am Speaker: Gerry Mc Monagle
Buncrana — Assemble 12pm Speaker: Raymond Mc Cartney MLA
Castlefin — Assemble 12pm
Drumkee — Assemble 12pm. Wreath Laying H-Block Memorial
Gweedore — Assemble 12.15pm Speaker: Grainne Mhic Geidigh. 

Easter Monday
Carrigart — Assemble 12.30pm  at Parochial Hall. Speaker: Gráinne Mhic Géidigh
Fanad — Assemble  3pm Commemoration Kildrum — Easter Monday 3pm Speaker; Gráinne Mc Geidigh.
Pettigo — Assemble 3pm. Speaker: P.J. Branley
Downpatrick — Assemble 6pm Speaker: Mitchel McLaughlin


Easter Sunday
Castlewellan — Assemble 4pm. Speaker: Raymond McCartney 

Easter Monday
Downpatrick — Assemble 5pm Sinn Féin Centre, St Patrick’s Avenue and march to monument. Guest speaker Mitchel McLaughlin.


Good Friday
Arbour Hill — Stonybatter —Assemble 12pm

Easter Saturday
Ballyfermot — Assemble 11.30am
Crumlin — Assemble 2pm
Howth — Assemble 4pm

Easter Sunday
Glasnevin —Assemble 10.45am
Main commemoration —Assemble 1.30pm Garden of Remembrance. Speaker: Gerry Adams

Easter Monday
Dún Laoghaire —Assemble 1.30pm. Speaker: Mary Lou McDonald


Easter Sunday
Donagh — 2.30pm. Speaker: Michelle Gildernew.


Easter Sunday
Ballinasloe —Assemble 1pm
City —Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD

Easter Monday
Conamara —Assemble 12pm. Speaker: Eoghan McCormack


Easter Saturday
Mooncoin — Assemble 12pm Mooncoin Tech. Speaker: Eamonn Nolan.
Kilkenny City — 3pm Assemble at Train Station. Speaker: Eamonn Nolan.


Easter Sunday
Mountmellick — Assemble 12.30pm. Speaker:Brian Stanley


Easter Sunday
Mohill — Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Daithí McKay


Easter Sunday
Limerick City —Assemble: 12.30p at the Munster Fair Tavern and march to
Mount St. Lawerence Graveyard. Speaker: Cathal Boylan, MLA


Easter Sunday
Longford Town — 2.30pm on the Market Square. Speaker: Martin Kenny.


Easter Sunday
Drogheda — Assemble 11am. Speaker: Barry McElduff
Dundalk — Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker: Barry McElduff


Easter Sunday
Achill —Assemble 10am. Speaker: Pádraig Mac Lochlainn
Castlebar —Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker Pádraig Mac Lochlainn.


Easter Saturday
Ballinlough — Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Pat Treaor
Oldcastle — Assemble 3pm. Speaker pat Treanor.

Easter Sunday
Ardbraccan — Assemble 12pm. Speaker: Peadar Tobin


Easter Saturday
Inniskeen — Assemble 2.pm.  Speaker: Willie Clarke

Easter Sunday
Monaghan Town — Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Bairdre de brún
Wreath Laying Ceremonies: Easter Sunday morning at; Annyalla, Carrickroe, Castleblayney, Clara, Clontibret, Corcaghan,Raferagh, Trinity (Rockcorry), Tyholland, Urbleshanny. Check locally for times.

Easter Monday
Scotshouse — Assemble 11am. Speaker: Eibhlín Glenholmes.
Clones — Assemble 2:30pm. Speaker: Paul Hogan



Clara — Assemble 2.30pm


Easter Monday
Castlerea — Assemble Market Square 1.45pm.Speaker: Francie Molloy


Easter Sunday
Nenagh, Banba Square — Assemble 4pm. Speaker: John Dwyer.
Fethard, St. Johnstown — Assemble 2.30pm. Speaker Liam Walsh.


Easter Saturday
Coalisland Square — Assemble 3pm Speaker: Barry McElduff
Wreath Laying ceremony:
Strathroy 5.30pm, Moy 6pm, Killyclogher 7pm, Drumragh (Old Graveyard) 7.45pm

Easter Sunday
Carrickmore — Assemble 3.30pm. Speaker: Pat Doherty
Local commemorations: Aghyaran 12.00pm, Altmore 10.00am, Aughnagar 9.30am, Carrickmore 12.15pm Broughderg 11.30am, Donaghmore 11.30am, Cranagh 10.30am, Dunmoyle 10.45am, Drumragh 1.15pm, Eglish 12pm, Edendork 10.45am, Greencastle 9.30am, Galbally 10.30am, Loughmacrory 12.15pm, Kildress 12.15pm, Pomeroy 11.30am, Rock 11.30am, Tullysaran 10.45am, Clonoe 12.30pm
Wreath Laying ceremonies: Ardboe, Ballinderry, Ardboe Old Cross, Castlederg, Cookstown, Dromore, Dunamore, Dunngannon (Carland Rd), Fintona, Moortown, Trillick, Seskinore.

Easter Monday
Ardboe, Diamond Corner — Assemble 2.00pm. Main Speaker: Eibhlín Glenholmes
Brockagh — Assemble 1.00pm


Easter Saturday
Waterford City — Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Seán Oliver
Ardmore — Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Martin Ferris


Easter Monday
Mount Temple —Assemble 3pm. Speaker: Mícheál MacDonncha


Easter Sunday
Wexford Town — Assemble 12pm. Speaker: Eamon Nolan
Easter Monday
Enniscorthy — Assemble 2pm. Speaker: Arthur Morgan


An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1