AP 4-2023 top

11 May 2012

Resize: A A A Print

35 TDs and senators sign petition on mass Palestinian prison hunger strike

'The current situation of Palestinians in Israeli jails is unacceptable'

THIRTY-FIVE members of the Irish Parliament in Dublin – from all political parties and groups in the Dáil and Seanad – have signed their names to a petition calling for an immediate response to the ongoing mass hunger strike of Palestinian prisoners in Israeli jails.

The 35 include all of Sinn Féin’s TDs and senators.

A cross-party group of TDs will attempt to raise the matter in the Dáil under ‘Topical Issues’.

The 35 Oireachtas members have called for an immediate response to the Palestinian non-violent protests:

The current situation of Palestinians in Israeli jails is unacceptable. We call on both the Israeli Government and international actors to recognise the following demands of prisoners:

  • That international law and its provisions with regard to administrative detention are respected.
  • That Israel ends its policy of administrative detention.
  • That Israel ends its policy of keeping prisoners in solitary confinement.
  • That prisoners are allowed to see their families.

The Oireachtas members who signed the petition are:

Sinn Féin

Gerry Adams TD

Michael Colreavy TD 

Seán Crowe TD                              

Pearse Doherty TD

Dessie Ellis TD

Martin Ferris TD                                  

Mary Lou McDonald TD

Sandra McLellan TD

Pádraig Mac Lochlainn TD

Jonathan O’Brien TD                                       

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD

Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD

Brian Stanley TD                                  

Peadar Tóibín TD

Senator Trevor Ó Clochartaigh

Senator David Cullinane

Senator Kathryn Reilly


Minister of State, Joe Costello TD        

Minister of State, Jan O Sullivan TD

Richard Boyd Barrett TD                      

Joan Collins TD

Finian McGrath TD                                

Olivia Mitchell TD

Gerald Nash TD

Patrick Nulty TD                                    

Maureen O’Sullivan TD                                                 

Thomas Pringle TD

Robert Troy TD            

Senator Ivana Bacik

Senator Terry Leyden

Senator Michael Mullins

Senator David Norris

Senator Susan O’Keeffe

Senator Jim Walsh

Senator Katherine Zappone

Follow us on Facebook

An Phoblacht on Twitter

An Phoblacht Podcast

An Phoblacht podcast advert2

Uncomfortable Conversations 

uncomfortable Conversations book2

An initiative for dialogue 

for reconciliation 

— — — — — — —

Contributions from key figures in the churches, academia and wider civic society as well as senior republican figures

GUE-NGL Latest Edition ad

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1