26 March 2009 Edition

Resize: A A A Print

Changes in party structure see 'step change' at leadership level

SINCE the extensive internal consultation process carried out by Sinn Féin in 2007 a range of structural changes have been implemented across the party, particularly at local and regional level. The changes are part of a process that has been described as creating an overall party organisation which is “fit for purpose”.
In recent months Sinn Féin’s National Officer Board has looked at the party’s Head Office and party management structures. A detailed paper was put to the Ard Chomhairle in February and many of the recommendations agreed there involve what is being described as “a step change” in the operation of the national leadership.
Designed to ensure greater cohesion, efficiency and accountability across the party, among the key recommendations is one that sees all party work now located within six national departments. These are headed by the party President Gerry Adams, Vice President Mary Lou McDonald, Chairperson Declan Kearney, Ard Rúnaí Dawn Doyle, Director of Publicity Rosaleen Doherty and Treasurers Rita O’Hare and Maurice Quinlivan.
New appointments include Declan Murphy as Leas Ard Rúnaí, Brian Keane as National Adminsrator, Martin Lynch as Director of Human Resources, Caoilfhionn Ní Dhonnabháin as Director of Political Operations 26 Counties, Joanne Spain as Chair of the policy committee, Pádraig Mac Lochlainn as Chair of the political education committee, Pat Doherty as National Trustee and Margaret Kelly as Director of Fundraising.

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1