AP Issue 3 2020 small

30 July 2010

Resize: A A A Print


Sinn Féin council mayors and chairs elected across Ireland

SINN FÉIN COUNCILLORS have been elected to be mayors or chairs or deputy mayors and deputy chairs across the island of Ireland, a tribute to the hard work that they and all Sinn Féin activists put in on behalf of their communities, day in, day out.

Mary Doyle has been elected Deputy Mayor of Armagh City.

John Martin is Leas Cathaoirleach of Cootehill Town Council.

Willie O’Regan is the new Mayor of Mallow.

In Magherafelt, Seán Kerr is Vice-Chair.

The new Mayor of Donegal is Cora Harvey, the first Sinn Féin mayor for the county since 1923. At the council meeting where she accepted the mayoral chain, Cora paid tribute to the late Donegal County Councillor Eddie Fullerton, the Sinn Féin stalwart murdered in his home by loyalist agents of the British state on May 25th 1991.
Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (left) has been elected Mayor of Buncrana.

Mick Murphy has taken up the chain of Mayor of Newry & Mourne.
Tallaght Councillor Cathal King has been elected Deputy Mayor of South Dublin, one of the largest local authority areas in the country with a population of a quarter of a million.

Stephen Huggett becomes Chair of Fermanagh.

Anthony Curtin was elected Mayor of Listowel, prompting the Kerryman headline of “Curtin’s call to the Mayor’s chair”.
Stephen Lynch is Vice-Chair of Mountmellick Town Council.

Therese Ruane is the new Deputy Mayor of Castlebar.

Conor Ferguson was elected unopposed as Cathaoirleach of Kells Town Council, the first Sinn Féin councillor ever to hold the position of chairperson in Kells.

Jackie Crowe has been unanimously elected as Mayor of County Monaghan for the year.
Gene Duffy (right) is the newly-elected Deputy Mayor of Ballybay Town Council.

Mickey Browne has notched up the notable achievement of becoming Mayor of Cashel for the third time in three decades.
Seamie Morris has been elected Mayor of Nenagh, the largest town in North Tipperary.


John McNamee, Michaela Boyle, Declan McAleer and Michelle O’Neill

In Tyrone, Sinn Féin women are making breakthroughs in local government.
Michelle O’Neill is the first-ever female Mayor of Dungannon.
Further west, Michaela Boyle becomes Chair of Strabane, the first-ever woman chair since 1972, almost 40 years!
John McNamee is the new Chair of Cookstown. Over in Omagh, Sinn Féin has taken the top two posts, with Declan McAleer and Ann Marie Fitzgerald being elected Chair and Vice-Chair.

Well done to everyone

Follow us on Facebook

An Phoblacht on Twitter


Uncomfortable Conversations 

uncomfortable Conversations book2

An initiative for dialogue 

for reconciliation 

— — — — — — —

Contributions from key figures in the churches, academia and wider civic society as well as senior republican figures

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1

Powered by Phoenix Media Group