New side advert

19 April 2007 Edition

Resize: A A A Print

Sinn Féin to stand 42 candidates in General Election

Sinn Féin will be standing 42 candidates in 41 constituencies in the forthcoming General Election. The Head of Sinn Féin’s Election Department and party vice-President Pat Doherty MP, speaking at a meeting of the party’s Ard Chomhairle in Dublin on 14 April, said that in the coming weeks “we will be putting a strong republican platform before the electorate setting out our plans to build an Ireland of equals. We are preparing to be in government, north and south”.
 Describing this as “a huge election for Sinn Féin” Doherty said that the Ard Chomhairle had completed the party’s candidate list and agreed key priorities for its manifesto. He stated:
“We expect to substantially increase our representation in constituencies right across the country.  In the north our five government ministers are already working with the DUP and the other parties for the return to government on 8 May.  And we are just as ready for government in the south.
 “Our priority in government will be to end the crisis in the health service, build social and affordable housing, advance the peace process and build a strong, all-Ireland economy that delivers for all.  We want to build Irish unity and bring together the experience of nationalists and unionists across the island.
 “In the last few weeks we have seen the Fine Gael and the Labour Party alliance coming apart at the seams on key issues relating to the economy, rural Ireland and international affairs. We have seen a lot of desperate auction politics. This is appallingly reckless given the depth of the crisis in our public services.
 “Sinn Féin has been canvassing extensively and one thing is certain, after the debacle of the last election people are looking for answers. They are looking for an alternative government and we are confident that Sinn Féin is up for the challenge of being at the centre of a new administration.”

Sinn Féin candidates – General Election 2007


Dublin Central...Mary Lou McDonald MEP
Dublin North...Matt McCormack
Dublin North Central...Peter Lawlor
Dublin North East...Larry O’Toole
Dublin North West...Dessie Ellis
Dublin Mid West...Joanne Spain
Dublin South...Shaun Tracey
                 ...Sorcha Nic Cormaic
Dublin South Central...Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD
Dublin South East...Daithí Doolan
Dublin South West...Seán Crowe TD
Dublin West...Felix Gallagher
Dun Laoghaire...Eoin Ó Broin


Cavan Monaghan...Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin TD
Donegal North East...Pádraig MacLochlainn
Donegal South West...Pearse Doherty
Galway West...Ann Marie Carroll
Galway East...Jason Devlin
Mayo...Gerry Murray
Roscommon/Sth Leitrim...Martin Kenny
Sligo/North Leitrim...Seán Mac Manus


Clare...Anna Prior
Cork East...Sandra McLellan
Cork North Central...Jonathan O’Brien
Cork South Central...Henry Cremin
Cork South West...Cionnaith Ó Suilleabhain
Kerry North...Martin Ferris TD
Kerry South      Lynn Ní Bhaoighealláin
Limerick East...Maurice Quinlivan
Tipperary North...Seamus Morris
Tipperary South...Liam Browne
Waterford...David Cullinane


Carlow Kilkenny...Kathleen Funchion
Kildare North...Cristín McCauley
Kildare South...Teresa Bennit
Laois Offaly...Brian Stanley
Longford Westmeath...Paul Hogan
Louth...Arthur Morgan TD
Meath East...Joanne Finnegan
Meath West...Joe Reilly
Wexford...John Dwyer
Wicklow...John Brady


An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1

Powered by Phoenix Media Group