5 October 2006 Edition

Resize: A A A Print

Drogheda Remembers the Hunger Strikers

Jim Gibney with Arthur Morgan TD, former TD Paddy Agnew, County Councillor Imelda Munster, Borough Councillors Dom Wilton, Matthew Coogan and Tom Cunningham from Clogherhead

Led by an Ógra Shinn Féin colour party and joined by two Republican bands, around 500 people from all over County Louth and beyond, participated in a short parade on Sunday, 1 October, to the recently unveiled Hunger Striker plaque at the Grove Hill to mark the 25th anniversary of the 1981 Hunger Strike.

The event was chaired by Sinn Féin Councillor Matthew Coogan.

The main speaker was Sinn Féin Ard Chomhairle member Jim Gibney.

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1

Powered by Phoenix Media Group