New side advert

3 May 2018

Resize: A A A Print

Voters go to the polls in West Tyrone by-election

Sinn Féin by-election candidate Órfhlaith Begley candidate casts her vote.

Voters in West Tyrone go to the polls today in a by-election to elect a new MP. 

Polls opened at 7am and will remain open to 10pm at 82 polling stations across the county. 

Sinn Féin by-election candidate Órfhlaith Begley cast her vote at a polling station in Carrickmore this morning at 9pm. 

The 27 year-old solicitor from Carrickmore is hoping to be elected as the new MP for West Tyrone, replacing Barry McElduff who stood down earlier this year. 

Sinn Féin have held the seat since 2001 when Pat Doherty was first elected. 

In recent weeks, Ófhlaith Begley was joined on the campaign trail across the county by Sinn Féin leadership figures and by activists from across Ireland. 

Counting of ballot papers will begin in Omagh shortly after the polls close and all ballot boxes are brought to the count centre with the result expected in the early hours of Friday morning. 

Follow us on Facebook

An Phoblacht on Twitter

An Phoblacht Magazine


  • The first edition of this new magazine will feature a 10 page special on the life and legacy of our leader Martin McGuinness to mark the first anniversary of his untimely passing.
  • It will include a personal reminiscence by Gerry Adams and contributions from the McGuinness family.
  • There will also be an exclusive interview with our new Uachtarán Mary Lou McDonald.

Buy An Phoblacht magazine here


Uncomfortable Conversations 

uncomfortable Conversations book2

An initiative for dialogue 

for reconciliation 

— — — — — — —

Contributions from key figures in the churches, academia and wider civic society as well as senior republican figures

An Phoblacht
44 Parnell Sq.
Dublin 1

Powered by Phoenix Media Group